Central Bank of Mauritania

Mauritania

« Transformation » Award:

Best fintech challenge

 

With the ambition of "Reinventing Finance in Mauritania", the Central Bank of Mauritania (BCM) has been able to translate its willingness to digitalize the country's financial sector through the BCM Fintech Challenge, which is part of the strategy envisaged by the BCM which consists in connecting startups, with high technological potential, with the country's financial players, namely banks, financial institutions, telecom operators, etc.. This Win-Win partnership is opportune for fintechs that will benefit from financing and legal / managerial support likely to optimize their capacity for innovation, with a focus on different aspects of technology (blockchain, cognitive computing, cloud computing, artificial intelligence, Big data, etc.). For companies, they will be able to accelerate their innovation process by taking advantage of the agility and creativity of start-ups, whose structure is better adapted to current challenges, enabling them to rapidly develop cutting-edge technological solutions. In addition to the levers that this initiative presents for both parties, the BCM Fintech Challenge is above all one of the pillars of digital development at the national level, with the following objectives, which are consistent with the country's financial perspectives as well as offering a maximum of convergence between the expectations of fintechs and the the country’s financial players:

 

  • Financial inclusion: to promote access to formal financial services for the unbanked, at an affordable cost, and to enable them to benefit from the offers and services of the banking circuit;

  • Development of Fintechs: to propel the development of fintechs by offering an ecosystem of partnerships, particularly in terms of support, financing and monitoring, based on specialized acceleration programmes;

  • Improving the quality of financial services: boosting digital innovations to improve the quality of the services offered, with the aim of meeting the requirements of users whose way of using financial services is strongly impacted by digital technology;

  • Adoption of disruptive technologies: stimulate and encourage disruptive innovations in the financial sector by implementing new solutions based on artificial intelligence, Big data, Blockchain, Machine learning;

  • Cashless Society: in the interests of economic development, consumer protection and the fight against financial fraud, this challenge aims to gradually eliminate the use of cash for financial transactions.

The details of the challenge

Thus, for its first edition in 2019, the BCM Challenge Fintech has identified, among a hundred fintechs, the ten best according to the relevance, innovation and economic viability of the projects presented. The fintechs then took part in an intensive coaching cycle including business-oriented training, meetings with stakeholders in the financial ecosystem, and high-level personalised monitoring.

 

During the grand final, the competition brought out three winners who were rewarded with a support package offered by the central bank, including financing throughout the project's implementation (up to 50,000 euros per project), legal assistance and coaching adapted to their development needs. Three special thematic prizes amounting to 10,000 euros were offered by the Challenge's partners (Regulatory Authority, Patronage, Bank Association) to reward the best financial inclusion project, the best technological innovation and the best financial innovation.

 

The Challenge has thus enabled the emergence of new technological start-ups that can bring their ideas and projects to a scale up phase, with the support and guidance of large companies. The synergy generated is all the more beneficial for clients, who will be able to benefit from more convenient and practical financial services based on new technologies. Indeed, the large number of semi-finalist candidates (39 in total) clearly shows the development and ambition of Fintechs in Mauritania, but also proves that the BCM Fintech Challenge would be promising in the future.

 

Let us note in the end that BCM is one of the first Central Banks of the region to organize such an event, an initiative that reflects its awareness of the levers and opportunities of the digital transformation of the Mauritanian financial sector, but above all its sponsorship of the fintechs in order to boost their potential for innovation, to the benefit of financial players and Mauritanian customers.

Among the key ideas of the BCM fintechs challenge

RIS

RIS is a platform for automating the dematerialization of interbank transfer orders and Public Treasury payment orders. The platform also covers clearing and balancing interbank transactions.

RIMCRED 

RIMCRED is a startup specialized in financial and digital products for the microfinance sector. It proposed a project on the blockchain for KYC processes with an understanding of the key dimensions that characterize each client.

SMARTGAGE 

SMARTGAGE is a Mauritanian startup that aims to introduce innovative technological solutions to secure and boost real estate finance. The proposed platform uses "smart contract" technologies for mortgage management through an inclusive process. 

Would you like to participate to the Transformers Awards assessment? 

Do not hesitate to contact us to deploy our quantitative and qualitative approach to identify your organization's best practices.

© 2020 Trusted Advisors / Transformers Awards

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Banque Centrale de Mauritanie 

Mauritanie

Prix « Transformation »:

Meilleur fintech challenge

Dans l’ambition de « Réinventer la finance en Mauritanie», la Banque Centrale de Mauritanie (BCM) a pu traduire sa volonté de digitaliser le secteur financier du pays à travers le BCM Fintech Challenge, ce dernier s’inscrit dans le cadre de la stratégie envisagée par la BCM qui consiste à relier les startups, à fort potentiel technologique, avec les acteurs financiers du pays, en l’occurrence les banques, les institutions financières, les opérateurs télécoms, etc. Ce partenariat Win-Win est opportun pour les fintechs qui bénéficieront d’un financement et d’un accompagnement juridique et managérial susceptible d’optimiser leur capacité d’innovation, en mettant l’accent sur différents aspects de la technologie (blockchain, informatique cognitive, Cloud computing, intelligence artificielle, Big data, etc.). Pour les entreprises, elles seront en mesure d’accélérer leur process d’innovation en tirant profit de l’agilité et la créativité des startups, dont la structure est plus adaptée aux enjeux actuels, ce qui leur permettra de développer rapidement des solutions technologiques de pointe. Outre les leviers que présente cette initiative pour les deux parties d’une manière cohérente, le BCM Fintech Challenge est surtout un des piliers de développement du digital sur le plan national, avec les objectifs, ci-dessous, qui agissent en cohérence avec les perspectives financières du pays :

  • L’inclusion financière: favoriser aux personnes non bancarisées l’accès aux services financiers formels, à un coût abordable, et les faire bénéficier des offres et services du circuit bancaire;

  • Le développement des Fintechs: propulser le développement des fintechs en offrant un écosystème de partenariat, notamment en matière d’accompagnement, de financement, de suivi, et ce en s’appuyant sur des programmes d’accélération spécialisés;

  • L’amélioration de la qualité des services financiers: booster les innovations digitales pour améliorer la qualité des services offerts, dans le but de répondre aux exigences des utilisateurs dont le mode d’usage est fortement impacté par le digital;

  • L’adoption des technologies de rupture: stimuler et encourager les innovations disruptives dans le secteur financier par l’implémentation de nouvelles solutions basées sur l’intelligence artificielle, le Big data, le Blockchain, le Machine learning;

  • Cashless Society: dans un souci de développement économique, de protection du consommateur et de lutte contre les manœuvres financières frauduleuses, ce challenge a pour vocation d’éliminer progressivement l’usage de l’argent liquide pour les transactions financières.

Les particularités du BCM Fintech Challenge

Ainsi, pour sa première édition 2019, le BCM Fintech Challenge a repéré, parmi une centaine de fintechs, les dix meilleures en fonction de la pertinence, l’innovation et la viabilité économiques des projets présentés. Ensuite, ces dernières ont participé à un cycle de coaching intensif comprenant des formations orientées business, des meetups avec les parties prenantes de l’écosystème financier, et un monitoring personnalisé de haut niveau.

 

Lors de la grande finale, la compétition a fait ressortir trois lauréats qui ont été récompensés par un package d’accompagnement offert par la banque centrale, notamment, un financement tout au long de la réalisation du projet (à hauteur de 50.000 euros par projet), une assistance juridique et un coaching adapté à leur besoin de développement. Trois prix spéciaux thématiques d’un montant de 10.000 euros ont été offerts par les partenaires du Challenge (Autorité de régulation, Patronat, Association des banques) pour récompenser le meilleur projet d’inclusion financière, la meilleure innovation technologique et la meilleure innovation financière.

 

Ainsi, ce challenge a permis l’émergence de nouvelles pousses technologiques pouvant concrétiser leurs idées et projets, avec l’appui et l’accompagnement des grandes entreprises, cette synergie générée est d’autant plus bénéfique pour les clients qui pourront bénéficier de services financiers plus commodes et pratiques, basés sur les nouvelles technologies. En effet, le nombre important des candidats demi-finalistes (39 au total) montre clairement le développement et l’ambition des Fintechs en Mauritanie, mais prouve également que le BCM Fintech Challenge serait prometteur à l’avenir.

 

Notons au final que la BCM est la première Banque centrale de la région à organiser un tel événement, une initiative qui traduit sa prise de conscience des leviers et opportunités de la transformation digitale du secteur financier mauritanien, mais surtout son Sponsorship auprès des fintechs afin de booster leur potentiel d’innovation, au profit des acteurs financiers et des clients mauritaniens.

Parmi les idées phares des fintechs du challenge BCM 

RIS 
Le RIS est une plate-forme permettant d'automatiser la dématérialisation des ordres de virement interbancaire et des ordres de paiement du Trésor public. La plate-forme couvre également la compensation des transactions interbancaires. 


RIMCRED  
RIMCRED est une start-up spécialisée dans les produits financiers et numériques pour le secteur de la microfinance. Elle a proposé un projet Blockchain / KYC avec une compréhension des dimensions clés qui caractérisent chaque client. 


SMARTGAGE 
SMARTGAGE est une start-up mauritanienne qui vise à introduire des solutions technologiques innovantes pour sécuriser et dynamiser le financement immobilier. La plateforme proposée utilise des technologies de "contrat intelligent" pour la gestion des prêts hypothécaires dans le cadre d'un processus inclusif.  

Souhaitez-vous participer aux prochaines éditions des Transformers Awards? 

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter ...

© 2020 Trusted Advisors / Transformers Awards

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon